The North Carolina Technology Association’s finalists for its 2014 technology awards is out – and the long list ranges from companies large to small across the state.

Some winners also are named, including Brett Martin of Castle Branch as Tech Exec of the Year.

Ten startups also were selected as the “Top Ten Startups To Watch.” They are: bioMASON;  Blue Gas Marine; Boss Key Productions; DocsInk; nCino; Next Glass; Organic Transit; Tapity; Validic; and Windsor Circle

All the winners will be disclosed at an awards banquet on Nov. 6.

The program is now called Beacon Awards. It formerly was known as the 21 Awards.

The finalists:

  • Technology Corporate Awards

Software Company

AvidXchange • Bronto Software • Netsertive • PrecisionLender • Red Hat • Thinkgate

Communications Technology Company

CommScope • DocsInk • ERC Broadband • Republic Wireless • Truphone

Industry Driven Company

Allscripts • APEX Analytix • Jackrabbit Technologies • TopQuadrant • Waste to Green • Windsor Circle

Innovative Product

Automated Insights • Cree • Phononic Devices • Red Hat • Republic Wireless • Valencell

Best Consumer Web Company

Blue Label Hosting • CrowdTunes • Hostel Rocket • Stealz • WaterPlayUSA

Digital Marketing Company

Automated Insights • Beacon Technologies • Bronto Software • ChannelAdvisor

New Media/Digital Company

AnyCloud • Automated Insights • CrowdTunes • MobileSmith • ReverbNation

Best Place to Work

Citrix • LexisNexis • nCino • PointSource • Republic Wireless • Skookum Digital Works

Fast Growth Small Company

DC74 Data Centers • Epoch Universal • Samanage • Tresata • Windsor Circle

Fast Growth Large Company

ARCA • AvidXchange • Citrix • nCino • Netsertive

  • Use of Technology Awards

Business Value

Cisco • City of Asheville • Impact Financial Systems • Railinc

Civic Good

Galaxy Digital • Kenan Fellows Program • NeoNova • Small Footprint • Syntelli Solutions

Customer Service

Greater Than One, Inc. • Sageworks • Tantalus • Western Carolina University-IT Department


ChannelAdvisor • Hostel Rocket • Kadro Solutions • WaterPlayUSA • Windsor Circle


Lea(R)n • Odigia • Thinkgate • SKoolAide • WebAssign

Energy & The Environment

Google • GridBridge • InfoSense • Organic Transit • PlotWatt • Waste to Green

Finance & Banking

Impact Financial Systems • nCino • Tresata • LPL Financial

Health & Wellness

DocsInk • Paired Health • Ridge Diagnostics • Valencell • Validic

  • Individual Awards

Tech Exec of the Year*

Joe Colopy (Bronto) • Susan DeVore (Premier, Inc.) • Brett Martin (Castle Branch) WINNER • Mort O’Sullivan (ARCA) • Jay Parker (Lenovo)

Outstanding Achievement

Cecil Smith (NC Association of Electric Cooperatives) WINNER

Public Leader

Senator Ralph Hise WINNER

Private Sector CIO of the Year

Lee Congdon (Red Hat) • Victor Fetter (LPL Financial) • Allen Kim (ACN) • A.R. Mullinax (Duke Energy)

Public Sector CIO of the Year

Jonathan Feldman (City of Asheville) • Marc Hoit (NC State) • Jeff Stovall (City of Charlotte)

Technology Educator of the Year

Mark Edwards (Mooresville School District) • ABB • Fred Morris (Richmond Co. Schools) • Karla Shields (Central Piedmont CC)

Tech Woman of the Year

Karen Braswell (Alphanumeric Systems) • Jennifer Minella (Carolina Advanced Digital) • Shannon Tufts (UNC-Chapel Hill)

Top Ten Startups to Watch

Winners: bioMASON • Blue Gas Marine • Boss Key Productions • DocsInk • nCino • Next Glass • Organic Transit • Tapity • Validic • Windsor Circle