The Council for Entrepreneurial Development has a new chair as well as 21 new members for its board of directors.

Taking over as chair is Stephen Fraser, who is a co-founder along with Gart Davis of custom fabric and printing startup Spoonflower in Durham. He has served on the CED board since 2014.

Other new board officers include:

  • Dave Haines as Treasurer
  • Michael Saber as Secretary

They and Fraser also make up the CED’s executive committee along with DeLisa Alexander, Tony Atti, Patty Briguglio, David Gardner, Steve Malik, Giles Shih, Anita Watkins, and Jeff Williams.

“With a new CEO and an exciting new group of directors, CED is poised to renew and expand the support it has long brought to the Triangle’s entrepreneurial community,” Fraser said in a statement.

“It is my privilege to serve at a time when we have the opportunity to refine the mission of helping our region’s innovation-based companies. By continuing to bring our success stories to the attention of investors here in North Carolina and outside the state, I believe that CED remains uniquely positioned to help local companies connect and grow.”

Ravila Gupta was named the CED’s CEO and president in April.

Fraser succeeds Richard West, CEO of Baebies, as chair.

Bio: Stephen Fraser


  • Partner, co-founder
  • Company Spoonflower
  • Dates Employed :Apr 2008 – Present

Founded in 2008, Spoonflower offered the first service to allow individuals to print custom fabric, wallpaper and gift wrap on-demand. The Spoonflower community also represents the largest marketplace of surface designs by independent artists in the world.

Previous roles:

President, Bug-Eyed Marketing
Dates Employed: Sep 2006 – May 2008

Lulu Director of Communications and Online Marketing
Dates Employed: Jul 2002 – Sep 2006


  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Degree Name: BA

Field Of Study: English

Years: 1991 – 1993

Graduated with Honors in English. Recipient of national prize for scholarly writing on Thomas Wolfe. Essay published in national journal and presented to academic conference. Worked 30 hours a week at non-school jobs while completing degree.

  • Earlham College

Field Of Study: English

Dates attended: 1988 – 1990

Completed two years (3.9 GPA). Received awards and recognition for writing. Earned scholarship from Great Lakes College Association to attend one-semester intensive language study (Portuguese) at Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI, in Summer 1990. Transferred from Earlham after the second year to finish undergraduate degree at UNC-Chapel Hill.

Source: LinkedIn

New board members

The new board members named to two-year terms are:

  • Tom Allen, attorney, Wyrick Robbins;
  • Patty Briguglio, president, PFB Connect;
  • Russell Cobb, vice president global alliances & channels, SAS;
  • Alan Dickinson, director of client relations and business development, Manning Fulton & Skinner;
  • David Gardner, managing partner, Cofounders Capital;
  • Rusty Kelley, program officer, Burroughs Wellcome Fund;
  • Joe Lee, executive director, JP Morgan Chase;
  • Philip Lewis, principal, Fulcrum Equity Partners;
  • Steve Malik, executive chairman, Medfusion; chairman and owner, North Carolina Football Club;
  • Matt McCleary, partner, Grant Thornton;
  • Jamey Millar, senior vice president managed markets and government affairs, GSK;
  • Justin Nifong, owner, NK Patent Law;
  • Daniel Pomp, research professor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill;
  • Pat Scheper, director, Silicon Valley Bank;
  • Drew Schiller, CEO, Validic;
  • Kurt Schmidt, founder and CEO, Sidekick Industries;
  • Richard Shea, president and CEO, Vascular Pharmaceuticals;
  • Michael Sledge, CFO, Duke Clinical Research Institute;
  • Anita Watkins, director of strategic innovation, Rex Health Ventures;
  • Lesley Wilson, vice president, PNC Bank; and
  • Eugene Yamnitsky, director of product management and innovation, Citrix.

Directors re-elected to another two-year term:

  • James Avery, CEO and founder, Adzerk;
  • Elaine D. Bolle, president, RTP Capital Associates;
  • Meredith S. Friga, partner, EY;
  • Matt Godwin, vice president, Wells Fargo;
  • Ranya Hahn, director of human resources, Participate;
  • Dave Haines, partner, Deloitte;
  • Galen Hatfield, senior vice president of innovation, technology and development, RTI International;
  • Sanjay Pal, vice president, Cisco;
  • Kim Phillips, SVP, private client advisor, US Trust, Bank of America;
  • David Rhode, managing partner, Vaco Raleigh;
  • Michael Saber, partner, Smith Anderson;
  • Joe Schachle, COO, Parion Sciences;
  • Brad Schomber, CFO, MaxPoint Interactive;
  • Mark Self, CEO, Entigral Systems; and
  • Allen West, CEO, Railinc.

Incumbent directors set to continue serving through 2018:

  • Susan Acker-Walsh, managing partner, CREO;
  • DeLisa Alexander, EVP and chief people officer, Red Hat;
  • Tony Atti, president and CEO, Phononic;
  • Bill Brown, CEO, 8 Rivers Capital, LLC;
  • Glen Caplan, shareholder, Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson;
  • Brian Carney, general partner, Harbert Venture Partners;
  • Heather Dean, partner, Hughes Pittman & Gupton LLP;
  • Joy Parr Drach, president and CEO, Advanced Animal Diagnostics;
  • Scott Duda, partner, Cherry Bekaert LLP;
  • Patrick Dunnigan, principal, River Cities Capital Funds;
  • John Glushik, partner, Intersouth Partners;
  • Kimberly Hames;
  • Gary Hayes, COO, Scale Finance;
  • Melvin Hines, CEO and co-founder, Upswing;
  • Igor Jablokov, CEO, Blackstone Entrepreneurs Network;
  • Nick Jordan, CEO, Smashing Boxes;
  • Justyn Kasierski, partner, Hutchison PLLC;
  • Spence McClelland, principal, Noro-Moseley Partners;
  • Don Rainey, general partner, Grotech Ventures;
  • Christy Shaffer, general partner, Hatteras Venture Partners;
  • Giles Shih, CEO, BioResource International;
  • Adam Smith, chief revenue officer, Automated Insights;
  • Carolyn Sparano, general manager and vice president, Bronto Software;
  • Courtney Tellefsen, founder and CEO, The Produce Box;
  • Matt Tormollen, executive vice president and general manager, Avalara;
  • Garret Tripp, senior manager, PwC;
  • Scott E. Weiner, partner, Pappas Ventures; and
  • Jeff Williams, CEO, Clinipace Worldwide.