Editor’s note: LimeLight is a regular feature from WRAL TechWire offering another means of publishing noteworthy news. Be sure to check out more LimeLight worthy news at this link.


RESEARCH TRIAGLE PARK — The Council for Entrepreneurial Development (CED) today announced its 2022-2023 Board of Directors. The Board will support CED’s mission to connect entrepreneurial companies with high-value resources to accelerate business growth.

The Board unanimously elected William Spruill, Co-founder and President of Global Data Consortium, as its Chair serving through Sept 30, 2024.

WRAL TechWire LimeLight Social Sharing Image

“CED has played a central role in the growth of the Triangle ecosystem for nearly four decades. In the 90’s, I was a team member at CED and saw the direct impact the organization has on founders, founding teams, and the businesses built around them.” said Mr. Spruill. “My personal mission is to drive the inclusive growth of the Triangle ecosystem to a point of national dominance over the next 10 years and I cannot think of a better organization to work with other than CED.”

Mr. Spruill, working alongside CED’s CEO, Kelly Rowell, has built a bench of resources that will play a critical role in driving the continued growth of the entrepreneurial ecosystem.  The board represents a blended perspective of entrepreneurs, investors, and the broader business community with a shared passion for CED’s Mission.

Our recruitment efforts focused primarily on identifying founders and investors to serve as ambassadors for the CED Mission.” says Rowell, “They will bring a global perspective and expertise that will assist in strengthening core services at CED including mentorship and access to capital for scaling businesses.”

Thirteen newly-elected directors include a mix of entrepreneurs, investors, and ecosystem partners in both the life science and technology sectors. Directors serving two-year terms on CED’s Board include:


Anna Rath

President & CEO


LinkedIn Profile

Michelle Egger

Co-Founder & CEO


LinkedIn Profile

Galen Robertson

Co-Founder & COO

410 Medical

LinkedIn Profile

Silvia Aguirre

Founder, Tax Technology

VP, Avalara

LinkedIn Profile


Alex Gray

Vice President

Gray Ventures

LinkedIn Profile

Gregg Bordes

Managing Partner

Front Porch Ventures

LinkedIn Profile

Megann Vaughn

VP, New Ventures & Strategic Alliances

Labcorp, New Ventures

LinkedIn Profile

Travis Milks

Managing Partner

Topmark Ventures

LinkedIn Profile

David Pierson

Managing Partner

Syngenta Group Ventures

LinkedIn Profile

Kevin Mosley


Jurassic Capital

LinkedIn Profile

Phil Grayeski


KdT Ventures

LinkedIn Profile

Ecosystem Partners

Barbara Coury

Vice Chancellor and Foundation President

NC School Science & Math

LinkedIn Profile


Wade Fulgrum

Asst. Vice Chancellor

NC State University

LinkedIn Profile

The Board elected Garret Tripp, PwC as Treasurer and Thomas Allen, Wyrick Robbins as Secretary to serve as officers with Chair Bill Spruill. They will join Allison London Brown, Paul Boucher, Michelle Egger, Tim McLoughlin, Galen Robertson, Drew Schiller, and Anita Watkins on the executive committee of the Board of Directors. Officers and members of the executive committee serve one-year terms.

To view a listing of the full Board of Directors visit: https://cednc.org/about/board/