Get the latest news alerts: at Twitter.

Local Tech Wire

RALEIGH, N.C. – Some 50 companies from across North Carolina are finalists in the North Carolina Technology Association’s annual “21 Awards.”

Winners will be picked in 15 categories and announced at the trade group’s annual celebration on Nov. 12 at the Embassy Suites in Cary.

The title for this year’s event is:

The 2009 finalists by category:

Technology Industry Awards:

• Software Company Award: Apex Analytix, Bronto Software, iContact Corp, and Red Hat.

• Life Sciences Company Award: Banner Pharmacaps, Chelsea Therapeutics, and Cornerstone Therapeutics.

• Best Product or Service Technology Company Award: CA, CC Intelligent Solutions,, TransEnterix and upSNAP Services.

• Most Innovative Technology Company Award: AT&T, Digitalsmiths, Fuentek and TransEnterix.

• Industry Driven Technology Company Award: Elster, Epic Games, Railinc and Softpro.

• Green Technology Company Award: BreezePlay, Cisco, Elster, and Unifi Manufacturing.

Excellence Awards:

• Private Company Award: Apex Analytix, Connexion Technologies, SilkRoad Technology, and USfalcon.

• Public Company Award: Cornerstone Therapeutics, Credit Suisse, Red Hat and Tekelec.

• Customer Service Company Award: Alagad, Peak 10, SoftPro and Wingswept.

• Fastest Growing Company Award: Apex Analytix, Connexion Technologies, SciQuest and USfalcon.

• Leading Environmental Steward Company Award: IBM, Leap Realty and SAS.

• Corporate Citizenship Company Award: Freudenberg IT, Microsoft and WorkSmart.

Stage of Development Awards:

• Small Technology Company Award: Chelsea Therapeutics, DataChambers, K3 Enterprises and UpSNAP Services.

• Mid Size Technology Company Award: Apex Analytics, Hosted Solutions, SciQuest and USfalcon.

• Large Technology Company Award: Epic Games, Microsoft, Red Hat and Tekelec.

The technology executive of the year will be determined by popular vote. Four finalists are in the running:

• Tom Brown, president, Stratapult
• Mike Capps, president, Epic Games
• Andrew “Flip” Filipowski, executive chairman and CEO, SilkRoad Technology
• Cynthia Marshall, president, AT&T North Carolina

Votes can be cast at the through Oct. 31.