RALEIGH, N.C. — Seven scientists at North Carolina State University are among the new Fellows elected by their peers in the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Among them is Joseph DeSimone, professor of chemistry and chemical engineering. DeSimone is also a professor at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a serial entrepreneur.

Other fellows selected include: Robert R.H. Anholt, professor of zoology and genetics; Vincent L. Chiang, professor of plant biochemistry; Marie Davidian, professor of statistics; Gregory Gibson, professor of genetics; Robert Kelly, professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering; and Coby Schal, professor of entomology.

In all, 449 scientists were named Fellows by the AAAS, which is the world’s largest general scientific society, and the publisher of the journal Science.

For more details about the NCSU Fellows, see: news.ncsu.edu/releases/2006/dec/209.html