The Technology Association of Georgia is kicking off its second “Top 40” competition to honor the most innovative Georgia companies.

TAG will name the Top 40 winners at its Georgia Technology Summit on Feb. 7, 2006, at the Cobb Galleria Center. This year’s theme is “Seven Innovations That Are Changing the Future.”

A selection committee will consider a number of criteria in picking the winners. Among them are: degree of innovation, scope and financial impact of that innovation; and promotion of Georgia’s own innovative efforts.

Selection committee members include: Dennis Zakas, partner with Hunton & Williams, as chair; Stephen Fleming, chief commercialization officer of
Georgia Tech; Zulfiqar Ali Qazilbash, chief strategy officer of iVivity; Knox Massey, executive director of Atlanta Technology Angels; Kathy Harris, senior vice president of Noro-Moseley Partners; Buddy Ray, executive editor of Innovations Publishing; Jeff Muir, managing partner of Chatham Capital; Sig Mosely, president of Imlay Investments; Chris Mangum, managing principal of Venture X Group; Don House, chairman of Version One; and Ron Dolinsky, chief executive officer of MarketQuest.

“Once again, we have assembled an All Star team for the Top 40 Selection Committee,” said Tino Mantella, president of TAG, in a statement. “The Selection Committee includes entrepreneurs, investors, seasoned managers and others with a great deal of experience with innovative companies.”