Companies and individuals from across North Carolina are among the finalists in 20 categories for NCEITA 21 Awards.

The North Carolina Electronics and Information Technology Association will recognize winners on Nov. 18 at its “The Magic of technology” event. It is the 10th year for the awards.

The judging was done in conjunction with Grant Thornton.

The finalists are:

Communications Company of the Year: Corning Incorporated, JPS Communications, Inc., Overture Networks, and U.S. Networks, Inc.

Consumer Technology Company of the Year:, PowerByHand Inc. (now called Motricity), and Time Warner Cable

Corporate Citizenship of the Year: IBM, Inspire Pharmaceuticals and Progress Energy

Corporate Education: Cisco Systems, Duke Energy, EMC Corporation, Microsoft Corporation, Progress Energy, and SAS

Early Stage Company of the Year: Affinergy, Inlet Technologies, KBI BioPharma, and StrikeIron, Inc.

Electronics Company of the Year: Cree, Inc., EMC Corporation, RF Micro Devices, and Static Control Components

Healthcare/Pharmaceutical Company of the Year: Icagen, Targacept, and TransTech Pharma

IT Support Services Award: Inflow, Kennedy Covington, Kilpatrick Stockton, Linda Markus Daniels, and Peak 10

Large Company of the Year: Constella Group, EMC Corporation, Peopleclick, and Static Control Components

Media Award: Carolina Newswire, Time Warner Cable / News 14 Carolina, Triangle Business Journal, and Triangle Tech Journal

Mid Size Company of the Year: Arsenal Digital Solutions, LVL7 Systems, Inc., QlikTech, Inc., and WebSourced, Inc.

NCEITA Volunteer: Billy Glynn — Collective IQ; Randy Fraser — Time Warner Cable

Private Company of the Year: A4 Health Systems, Constella Group, SAS, and Static Control Components

Public Company of the Year: Cisco Systems, Cree, Inc., EMC Corporation, GlaxoSmithKline

Public Leadership in Technology: Mr. Olin Broadway, Ms. Janet Smith, Representative Bill Daughtridge, Representative Bill Wainwright, Senator John Kerr, Senator Richard Stevens, and Senator Tony Rand

Software Company of the Year: LVL7 Systems, Inc., SAS,, Ultimus

Top Customer Service Company of the Year: Red Hat, SAS, Time Warner Cable

Top Government / Non-Profit Technology of the Year: DonorsChoose, e-NC Authority, and MCNC

Top Growth Company of the Year: A4 Health Systems,, and Constella Group

Top VC Invested Company of the Year: Cellective Therapuetics, Icagen, SciQuest, and TransTech Pharma

An Outstanding Achievement Award will also be presented.

For details on the event, see: