Christy Shaffer, chief executive officer of Inspire Pharmaceuticals, will serve as chairman of the Council for Entrepreneurial Development in 2005-6, the CED announced Thursday.

She will follow Jeff Clark, managing general partner of Aurora Funds, who is the chairman for the next 12 months. Clark took over this week from Les Bethune, a partner with Ernst & Young.

The board of directors also has 11 new members, including Steve Clark, CEO of SpectraSite.

“CED’s board members will work diligently to enhance the area’s entrepreneurial climate,” said CED President Monica Doss in a statement. “We are fortunate to attract the caliber of leaders who are all so giving of their time and energy.”

The new members are:

  • Steve Clark, Spectrasite

  • Mike Constantino, Ernst & Young, LLP

  • John Glushik, Intersouth Partners

  • Brooks Malone, Hughes Pittman & Gupton

  • Robert McMahan, Sr., Sci-Tech Advisor to Gov. Easley

  • Anastasia Pucci, Conlan and Carlyle

  • Joan Siefert Rose, WUNC-FM

  • John Stewart, Deloitte & Touche LLP

  • Roy Watson, Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina

  • Steve Wiehe, SciQuest

  • Mark Woodmansee, IBM
  • CED: