Kay Wagoner, president and chief executive officer of Icagen, walked away with the Entrepreneurial Excellence Award at the Council for Entrepreneurial development’s annual awards event on Wednesday.

A crowd estimated at 500 people turned out for the awards ceremony and celebration, which commemorated CED’s 20th anniversary. The event took place at the RBC Center.

Other winners were:

  • Deal of the Year (Private Company) — Biolex, Inc.

  • Deal of the Year (Public Company) — LendingTree, Inc.

  • Master Mentor — Rollie Tillman, Jr.

  • Hat Trick Award — Dave Babson, Ken Romley and Mike Doernberg

  • Outstanding Service to Entrepreneurs — Horace Johnson

  • Product of the Year — LVL7 Systems, Inc.

  • Technology of the Year — Integrian, Inc.

  • Spinout of the Year — Cellective Therapeutics, Inc.

  • FastTrac Company of the Year — Affinergy, Inc.

  • Community Impact (Individual) — Michael and Laura Brader-Araje

  • Community Impact (Company) — Inspire Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

  • Charles Hamner Leadership Award — Dr. Stuart Bondurant, UNC-Chapel Hill’s School of Medicine.
  • CED: www.cednc.org