Les Bethune is the new chairman, Jeff Clark is the chairman-elect, and new board members are in place at the Council for Entrepreneurial Development.

Bethune, who has been active in setting up and coordinating CED programs, is a partner at Ernst & Young LLP. Bethune replaces Steve Nelson of Wakefield Group.

Clark of The Aurora Funds, a venture capital firm, will be chairman in 2004-2005.

New board members include:

Dan Allred, Silicon Valley Bank
Salim A. L. Bhatia, Trinity Convergence, Inc.
Jud Bowman, Pinpoint Networks, Inc.
Peter J. Coode, PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP
Mike Doernberg, SmartPath, Inc.
Tom Finegan, Clarkston Consulting
Richard Holcomb, StrikeIron
Dave Hunt, Deloitte & Touche LLP
Deborah J. Hylton, Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, P.L.L.C.
Pam Kirby, Quintiles Transnational Corp.
Mark E. Larson, Grant Thornton LLP
Stephen A. Leicht, IBM
Arthur M. Pappas, A.M. Pappas & Assoc.
Ray Vaughn, Bank of America
Richard West, TriVirix
Peter Young, AlphaVax

Remaining on the board are:

Susan K. Acker, Constella Group
Leslie M. Alexandre, North Carolina Biotechnology Center
Peyton C. Anderson, SciQuest.Com, Inc.
Chris M. Austen, Southeast Interactive Technology Funds
M. Les Bethune, III, Ernst & Young LLP
Michael Brader-Araje, truePilot, LLC
Kent F. Christison, Kennedy Covington Lobdell & Hickman, LLP
B. Jefferson Clark, The Aurora Funds
Kenneth F. Clark, III, Comerica, Technology and Life Sciences Division
Reid Conrad, Commerciality
W. Mark Crowell, UNC-Chapel Hill
Walter E. Daniels, Daniels Daniels & Verdonik, P.A.
Richard Daugherty
O. Gene Gabbard
Bill Gwyn, Maupin Taylor & Ellis, P.A.
Robbie Hardy, Silk Road Partners
Brent J. Keating, RBC Centura Bank
Byron B. Kirkland, Smith Anderson Blount Dorsett Mitchell & Jernigan, L.L.P.
Richard Lee, Springboard Managed Hosting
Chris Lynch, Wyrick Robbins Yates & Ponton, LLP
Robert E. Mallernee, U.S. Trust Company Of North Carolina
Joel S. Marcus, Alexandria Real Estate Equities, Inc.
Brad S. Markoff, Alston & Bird LLP
Merrill M. Mason, Hutchison & Mason PLLC
Chris Matton, Kilpatrick Stockton LLP
Steven E. Miller, Cherry, Bekaert & Holland, L.L.P.
Allen S. Moseley, Noro-Moseley Partners
Donovan Moxey, Interactive Multimedia Solutions, Inc.
Bob G. Mulligan, Aon
Beverly R. Murray, r+m creative
Mary Musacchia, SAS Institute Inc.
Steve Nelson, Wakefield Group, L.P.
Jeff Reid, The Kenan-Flagler Business School, UNC
C. Douglass Riddle, Wachovia Bank, NA
Sallie Shuping Russell, Intersouth Partners
Christy Shaffer, Inspire Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Matthew Szulik, Red Hat, Inc.
Pam Temple, Cingular Wireless

CED: www.cednc.org