RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK- The Council for Entrepreneurial Development has elected its 2002-03 board of directors and has named Ernst & Young partner Les Bethune as chairman-elect of the organization.

Steve Nelson of the Wakefield Group venture capital firm was inaugurated as CED’s 2002-03 chairman on June 18.

“We’re very pleased about the strong cross-section of North Carolina’s business community that our board represents,” CED President Monica Doss said in a statement. “Steve’s exceptional vision, quality standards and results-oriented approach make him the
perfect person to lead us at this new juncture.”

Nelson recently led the organization’s effort to raise more than $3.5 million as part of its five-year strategic initiative, called Innovation to Impact, which intends to improve the climate for high-growth entrepreneurs in the Triangle and statewide. The amount exceeded CED’s goal and came during a difficult fund-raising environment, Doss said.

“He must either be exceptionally committed to the cause of high-growth entrepreneurship or a glutton for punishment for taking on this new role. Either way, CED and area entrepreneurs win,” she said.

New members of CED’s board include Susan K. Acker of Blue292, Chris M. Austen of Southeast Interactive Technology Funds, Stuart Frantz of Franklin Street Partners, private investor O. Gene Gabbard, Brent J. Keating of RBC Centura Bank, Rich Lee of Springboard Managed Hosting, Robert E. Mallernee of U.S. Trust Company Of North Carolina and Joel S. Marcus of Alexandria Real Estate Equities.

Also, Brad S. Markoff of Alston & Bird, Jill Martin of PricewaterhouseCoopers, Chris Matton of Kilpatrick Stockton, Steven E. Miller of Cherry, Bekaert & Holland, Allen S. Moseley of Noro-Moseley Partners, Bob G. Mulligan of Aon, Beverly R. Murray of r+m creative, Andrew Rico of Silicon Valley Bank, C. Douglass Riddle of Wachovia Bank, Brenda N. Seligmann of Bank Of America and Pam Temple of Cingular Wireless.

The new board members join Nelson, Bethune and these other existing members: Peyton C. Anderson of, Claudia A. Black of Sicel Technologies, Michael Brader-Araje of truePilot, Kenneth G. Carroll of Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, Kent F. Christison of Kennedy Covington Lobdell & Hickman, B. Jefferson Clark of The Aurora Funds, Kenneth F. Clark III of Comerica, Reid Conrad of Commerciality, Walter E. Daniels of Daniels & Daniels, Doug Darr of the N.C. Biotechnology Center, former Centennial Campus director Richard Daugherty, Bernard Gray of Gray Ventures, Bill Gwyn of Maupin Taylor & Ellis and Robbie Hardy of Silk Road Partners.

Other current board members include Byron Kirkland of Smith Anderson Blount Dorsett Mitchell & Jernigan, Chris Lynch of Wyrick Robbins Yates & Ponton, Merrill M. Mason of Hutchison & Mason, Gerard P. McNamara of Heidrick & Struggles, Donovan Moxey of LIPSinc., Mary Musacchia of SAS Institute, Jeff Reid of the Kenan-Flagler Business School, Sallie Shuping Russell of Intersouth Partners, Christy Shaffer of Inspire Pharmaceuticals, Jack Sheffield of Deutsche Banc Alex.Brown, Matthew Szulik of Red Hat, Clay B. Thorp of Catalysta Partners, Stephen J. Walsh and Ford Worthy of A.M. Pappas & Associates.

CED website: